ACB Chairman of Selection Committee Asadullah Khan Resigned

Asadullah Khan Chairman Afghanistan Selection Selection Committee Resigned

Asadullah Khan has resigned as chairman of Afghanistan’s selection committee. He took this difficult decision because of the interference of cricket officials in the selection of the Afghan team without his permission in the Pakistan series. In a letter, he said that cricket officials are creating additional obstacles in selecting players.

He added that people are interfering in the players and elections due to a lack of minimum knowledge. On July 26, he handed over his resignation letter to Farhan Yousafzai, chairman of the Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB). Earlier in the day, an 18-member squad was announced for the ODI series against Pakistan.

There are 5 uncapped cricketers on the team. They are Nur Ahmed, Sadiq Atal, Shahid Kamal, Abdul Rahman and Fazal Haque Farooqi.

According to ESPN Cricinfo, the eight important reasons given by Asadullah in his resignation letter are:

1. Appoint a member of the selection committee without his permission after approval as chairman.

2. Being the chief selector, there are many obstacles in the work.

3. Interference of players and cricketers who do not have minimum knowledge in selection.

4. Players do not have the right to present their views in the election.

5. Despite repeated requests in the last 3 months, Chairman Yousafzai did not sit down with him even once.

Not informing him of anything in the final squad selection for the ODI series against Pakistan. Asadullah Khan was appointed as the chief selector in March this year on the basis of interviews among the candidates. He had a lot of experience in domestic cricket and was given the responsibility of the selection committee.

Earlier, the ACB had decided to change the functioning of the conventional election committee and streamline the election policy and department. Asadullah Khan was supposed to have advisers and information analysts to help him. However, he mentioned in the letter that it was not done later.


Afghanistan’s ODI Squad Against Pakistan

Rahmatullah Gurbaj (wicket-keeper), Ibrahim Zadran, Sadiq Atal, Rahmat Shah (co-captain), Hashmatullah Shahidi (captain), Najibullah Zadran, Ikram Ali Khil (wicket-keeper), Shahid Kamal, Mohammad Nabi, Karim Jannat, Azmat, Azam Abdul Rahman, Naveen Ul Haq, Mujib Ur Rahman, Fazal Haque Farooqi and Nur Ahmed Lakanwal.


Reserve Cricketer

Yusuf Zazai, Selim Safi, Sharfuddin Ashraf, and Kayes Ahmed.


Also Read: KPL 2021 Live Streaming