English Premier League 2020-21 will start on 12 September 2020

English Premier League 2020-21 will start on 12 September 2020

The 2020-21 season of the English Premier League will start on September 12 and the final round of matches will take place on May 23, 2020 the league announced on Friday.

The new season, originally slated to start on August 8, has been delayed this year after the Premier League suspended the 2019-20 season for three months due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

The current season will end with a final round of matches on Sunday, giving teams about seven weeks to prepare for the upcoming campaign.

However, teams still competing in the Champions League and Europa League will have less time to prepare if they advance deeper into the knockout stages, with the finals of the two competitions to be held on August 23 and 21, respectively.

Also Read: ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League.

The new season begins after the international break with the governing body of European football, UEFA, which announced last month that the League of Nations matches would be played between 3 and 8 September.

Leagues across Europe will seek to conclude their seasons next May with the postponement of 2020 Euros starting on June 11, 2021. The Premier League also added that they would continue to consult with the Football Association (FA) and the English Football League (EFL) regarding the scheduling of national competitions.

The EFL announced later on Friday that the second-tier Championship, third-tier League One, and fourth-tier League Two seasons would also begin the weekend of September 12 and end May 8-9, 2021.

The playoff final next season will take place on the last weekend of May. The Championship regular season ended on Wednesday with the playoff final to be played on August 4.

League One clubs voted to end this season ahead of time with the final table calculated on a points-per-game basis but kept the playoffs behind closed doors.

Champions Coventry City and Rotherham United were automatically promoted along with playoff winner Wycombe Wanderers. There was a similar result in League Two with Northampton Town winning the playoffs to go alongside champions Swindon Town, as well as Crewe Alexandra and Plymouth Argyle.