Lanka Premier League 2020 will start from August

Lanka Premier League 2020 will start from August

But before returning to the bilateral series, the Sri Lanka Cricket Board (SLC) has decided to host a franchise-based domestic Twenty20 tournament, the Lanka Premier League (LPL). The first-ever Sri Lanka Premier League 2020 will start on August 26 and end on September 20.

Due to Corona, the T20 World Cup in Australia and the T20 Asia Cup in Pakistan have been postponed, leaving the windows of the two tournaments empty. The boards have focused on rescheduling the series, which has been postponed due to the absence of any international bilateral series.

The 23 matches of the 22-day tournament will be held at four venues across the country. The venues are Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, Rangiri Dambulla International Cricket Stadium, Pallekele International Cricket Stadium and Suriyawawa Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium.

A total of five teams will participate in the tournament. The teams will be named after Colombo, Kandy, Gaul, Dambulla and Jaffna. According to the SLC, 60 international players and 10 high-profile coaches have already expressed interest in participating in the tournament.

Although the start and end dates of the tournament have been announced, the schedule has not been announced yet. However, the SLC said that the schedule of the Lanka Premier League LPL live streaming 2020 tournament will be announced soon.