Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup 2021 Announced

Pakistan Squad for T20 World Cup 2021 Announced

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced a 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup 2021. The 15-member squad also has 3 traveling reserves. Experienced all-rounder Shoaib Malik is not named in the 18-man squad. Pakistan has a squad of 5 batsmen, 2 wicket-keeper-batsmen, 4 all-rounders, and 4 fast bowlers. Fakhar Zaman, Usman Qadir, and Shahnawaz Dhani are the traveling reserves.

The same squad will play six Twenty20 matches against New Zealand and England before the World Cup. Pakistan will start their World Cup mission with a match against arch-rivals India in Dubai on October 24 after playing six Twenty20 matches against New Zealand and England in Lahore and Rawalpindi from September 25 to October 14.

Asif Ali and Khushdil Shah have returned to the squad after performing in the domestic league. Arshad Iqbal, Fahim Ashraf, Sarfaraz Ahmed, and Sharjeel Khan have been left out of Pakistan’s 19-member squad for the tour of England and the West Indies. Fakhar Zaman, Usman Qadir, and Shahnewaz Dhani are, of course, traveling reserves. Shoaib Malik did not get a place in the squad even though he was in the discussion.

Announcing the squad, Pakistan’s chief selector Mohammad Wasim said, “We have tried to cover all sectors keeping in mind the modern-day T20 brand. We needed a strong team to perform on stage like the World Cup.

Pakistan’s Squad for the T20 World Cup 2021

Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Hasnain, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan (wicket-keeper), Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Wasim Jr., Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shoaib Maqsood, Babar Azam (captain), Shadab Khan (co-captain), Asif Ali, Azam Khan (wicket-keeper), Haris Rauf.

Traveling Reserve: Fakhar Zaman, Shahnewaz Dhani, and Usman Qadir.


Also Read: T20 World Cup 2021 Live Streaming