Bangladesh Records Their First 10 Wickets Win

Bangladesh Records Their First 10 Wickets Win

IRE vs BAN 2023: Bangladesh Records Their First 10 Wickets Win

Bangladesh defeated Ireland by a big margin of 10 wickets and win the third and last ODI match of the series. This is Bangladesh’s record of winning a match by 10 wickets for the first time in their ODI history. Earlier, the Tigers have the feat of winning the match by 9 wickets five times. However, Bangladesh cricket has never won by 10 wickets.

Right-arm pacer Hasan Mahmood’s career-best bowling won the three-match ODI series against Ireland. Batting first on Hasan’s bowling, Ireland was bowled out for 101 runs in 28.1 overs. Hasan took 5 wickets for 32 runs. In response, the two openers, captain Tamim Iqbal and Liton Das, secured the match and series win for Bangladesh by scoring 102 runs without a wicket in 13.1 overs with 221 balls remaining. Liton remained unbeaten on 50 and Tamim on 41 runs.

The hosts Bangladesh bowled first after losing the toss in the match which started half an hour after the scheduled time at the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium due to rain. The visiting Ireland had a cautious start with the bat.

Pacer Hasan struck the Ireland camp first in the fifth over of the innings and in his own third over. Mushfiqur Rahim was caught behind the wicket by Stephen Doheny for 8 runs.

Hasan also hunted Ireland’s other opener, Paul Stirling. In the ninth and fifth overs of the innings, he dismissed Sterling before the leg for 7 runs. Hasan dismissed Harry Tector’s empty-handed leg before with the help of a review on the fourth ball of the same over.

The Irish lost 3 wickets in 22 runs on Hasan’s pace ball. Pacer Taskin Ahmed stopped Ireland captain Andrew Balbirnie for 6 runs off the second ball of the last over of the power play. Nazmul Hossain Shanto caught Balbirnie at slip. Irish run 27 for 4 wickets at the end of 10 overs by Hasan-Taskin.

In this situation, Lorcan Tucker-Curtis Camper tried to make a pair. They succeeded in that. They added 42 runs off 57 balls in the fifth wicket pair. In the 19th over, the pacer Ebadat Hossain struck a double blow when he attacked for the fourth time.

Tucker was bowled out for 28 off the last two balls of the over and new batsman George Dockrell was caught empty-handed by Ebadat. Ireland became 6 wickets for 68 runs.

Taskin hit a double in the Ireland camp in the 22nd of the innings and his seventh over after worship. Taskin dismissed Andy McBreen for 1 off the first delivery and Mark Adair for a wicket off the third delivery. In such a situation, losing 8 wickets for 79 runs, the Irish are in danger of collapsing under 100. However, by picking up 22 runs for the last 2 wickets, the visitors somehow managed to cross 100 runs.

Hasan hunted Camper as Ireland’s ninth batsman. Camper scored 36 runs for the team off 48 balls. Hasan bowled out Ireland for 101 runs by dismissing the last batsman Graham Hume for 3 runs. The Irish scored the lowest team run against Bangladesh.

Hasan took 5 wickets for 32 runs by bowling 8.1 overs in the innings with the ball in hand. 23-year-old Hasan took five or more wickets for the first time in his 8-match ODI career. Taskin took 2 wickets for 29 runs with 3 wickets for 26 runs.

Bangladesh’s two openers Tamim and Liton started batting in a spirited mood with an easy target of 101 runs to win the series. In the third over, Bangladesh got 13 runs off Tamim’s three fours. Tigers got 11 runs from Tamim’s first six of the seventh over. 15 runs came from Lytton’s two fours in the eighth over. Lytton hit two more fours in the next over. Bangladesh 81 for no wicket at the end of 10 overs.

Liton hit two consecutive fours in the 13th over to get his ninth half-century in his ODI career from 37 balls. With 1 run in the first ball of the 14th over, Tamim gave Bangladesh a taste of match and series victory with 221 balls remaining. This is Bangladesh’s second-fastest win with the most balls in hand. Earlier, the Tigers have a record of winning the match with 229 balls to spare.

Tamim scored an unbeaten 41 runs off 41 balls with 5 fours and 2 sixes. Liton scored an excellent 50 runs off 38 balls. He had 10 fours in his innings. Bangladesh-Ireland will start the three-match T20 series at Chittagong from March 27 at the end of the ODI.



To Get All the Latest Sports News and Updates Follow Streamkro on Google News.